2019 PLHS Year 12 Award Ceremony


Port Lincoln High School’s Year 12 Award Ceremony for 2019 was held in the Nautilus Theatre last night, with a large crowd of invited guests, families, PLHS staff and some very relieved Year 12 students in attendance.

Compered again by Mrs Helen Marks, the event served as an opportunity to recognise the outstanding contributions and achievements of a host of students, staff and community members, across a wide variety of service and subject disciplines. Heartfelt motivational addresses were delivered by Principal Mr Todd George, Governing Council Chairperson Ms Tabetha Wilkes and Senior School Assistant Principal Mrs Lesley Warren, with many award presenters also taking the opportunity to congratulate the graduates and wish them well for the future.

Following the delivery of the traditional Valedictory Speech, our 2019 Principal Student Leaders Brooklyn George and Cameron Akehurst handed over the reins (and presented school blazers) to 2020 leaders Chloe Treagus and Jesika Cane (pictured below).


The completion of twelve formal years of schooling for almost one hundred PLHS students was then officially acknowledged with the presentation of the Completion Certificates.

Congratulations go to Mrs Amber Mullins for her outstanding organisation of last night’s ceremony, to each of last night’s completing students and their families, and to the host of worthy award recipients (listed below).

SPECIAL AWARDS (recipients pictured below):

  • Principal’s Award: Nicole Pfeiffer
  • Governing Council Award: Chris Hughes
  • Peter Treloar Award: Callum Buller
  • Rowan Ramsey Award: Joy Figl
  • City of Port Lincoln Award of Merit: Callum Buller
  • Caltex Best Allrounder: David Fenwick
  • Port Lincoln Rotary Allrounder Award: Brooklyn George
  • ADF Long Tan Youth Leadership and Teamwork Award: Harry Stockham
  • University of SA Whyalla Campus Award for Academic Achievement: Lavinia Tonkin
  • Beatrice “Merle” Bascombe Award: Rochelle Milnes
  • Barbara Beitz Memorial Award: Franz Icasas
  • Port Lincoln Community Bank Award: Zoe Pratt
  • One Heart Brave Award: Jessica McCormack & Brittany Burner
  • Port Lincoln Zonta Award: Mardi Dennis
  • Mat Steele Memorial Senior Drama Award: Ethan Cowley (Year 11)
  • Gary Walpole Altruism Award: R’bka Ford
  • Port Lincoln Times Literature Award: Cameron Akehurst
  • TAFE SA Award: Kimberley Simes
  • K&K Cooling Award: Justin Carey
  • Eyre Trading Award: Kaleb Little


MULTIPLE SUBJECT PRIZES (recipients pictured below):

  • Chemistry, English Literary Studies, Physics, Specialist Mathematics: Cameron Akehurst
  • Japanese Continuers, Music: Jye Gower
  • Dance, Visual Arts – Art: Nellie Jones (Year 11)
  • Business & Enterprise, Psychology: Rochelle Milnes


  • Biology: Brooklyn George
  • Child Studies: Emma Stefano
  • Community Learning Centre: Anthony Scafidi
  • Community Studies A: Ky-Ann Moir
  • English: Sophie Tsesmelis
  • Food & Hospitality: Kyah Wilson
  • Integrated Learning – SAASTA: Zoe Pratt
  • Integrated Learning – Sports Studies: R’bka Ford
  • Material Products – Furniture Construction: Kaleb Little
  • Material Products – Metalwork: George Wilks
  • General Mathematics: Ethan Cowley (Year 11)
  • Mathematical Methods: Janbert Belotindos
  • Nutrition: Georgia Rowett
  • Outdoor Education: Sasha Meyers
  • Physical Education: Harry Stockham
  • Visual Arts – Design: Jade Ormerod
  • Workplace Practices: Aquaculture: Clinton Langley


OVERALL ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS (recipients pictured below):

  • Port Lincoln Freemasons Meritorious Effort Award: Brooklyn George
  • Eyre Peninsula Community Foundation Caledonian Society Academic Excellence Award: Cameron Akehurst


Leave a Reply