Year 8-11 Awards Assembly

  • Monday November 22nd, 2021 // PLHS Gymnasium
  • Master of Ceremonies: Mrs Lesley Warren
  • Acknowledgement of Country: Orlando Saunders & Jesse Retallick
  • Principal’s Address: Mr Todd George
  • Principal Student Leaders’ Address: Nell Cane & Mitchell Paterson

Academic Awards:

These awards are derived from grade point averages (GPA) which are calculated for each student. A GPA score of 4 indicates an A grade for each subject. There are two categories of Academic Awards:

  • Academic Excellence awards recognise students who have achieved a GPA of more than 3.5 (with no D or E grades) across all of their subjects for Semesters 1 and 2
  • Meritorious Effort awards recognise students who have achieved a GPA of at least 3 (with no D or E grades) across all of their subjects for Semesters 1 and 2

Year 8 Academic Excellence: Liam Akehurst, Jevan Ambrose, Fletcher Beard, Torr Clarke, Macie Claughton, Tylah Hollett, Sophie Jamieson, Evan Lukin, Max Rodda &Ella Wiseman

Year 8 Meritorious Effort: Maia Abbott, Ashton Batterbury, Nikitah Butcher, Jett Clements, Lilly Durdin, Liam Edmonds, Zade Hearfield, Huey Hood, Aliki Kapnistis, Sophie Lang, Lacey McMahon, Max Mitchelson, Holly Phillis, Charlotte Roberts, Hudson Saunders, Billy Scholz, Bonnie Silberschneider, Kayla Stewart, Tygh Te Wano, Jordan Tothill, Will West & Taj Williams

Year 9 Academic Excellence: Riley Bell, Liam Fuss, Benjaman Gabb, Ahmari Guamen, Seth Kayser, Maddison Lowe, Rylee Marks, Erin McMillan, Georgina Millard, Issac Morton, Prapti Pai, Luke Pearce, Zali Phillips, Kalea Siegert, Amy Ward, Sky Weir, Piper Wilkes & Jessica Woolford

Year 9 Meritorious Effort: Shiloh Abbott, Kody Aistrope, Christopher Berryman, Acacia Boyce, Nina (Liwenjie) Du, Ashley Durdin, Phoebe Edmonds, Paige Holland, Tilda Jenkins, Tayah Liffner, Ella Macksad, Lauren McDonald, Jaxon McDonnell, Tahlia McGrath, Sasha Noske, Riley Prince, Angus Rowett, Tyrese Sincock, Katie-Anne Solly, Isabelle Stutzer, Cian Turner, Izabella Wicks & Keely Wiseman

Year 10 Academic Excellence: Lucy Bennie, Charlie Day, Saranda Edwards, Eliza Hartwich, Jayden Kotz, Shana Pomeroy, Jemma Rawling, Denise Sadiwa, Amelia Stevens, Taya Watherston & Kit West

Year 10 Meritorious Effort: Deppler Clarke, Kyla Cullen, Hannah Greenfield, Nathaniel Hirschausen-Burk, Adelaide (Wayan) Horlin-Smith, Bradley Jacob, Mikayla MacCuspie, Kade Mullins, Ebony Plane, Cody Selwyn-Shore, Mia Speed, Grace Thomas, Ella Thomson, Tahlia Weir, Jake Wendland & Meg Wright

Year 11 Academic Excellence: Nell Cane, Peter Kapnistis, Mitchell Paterson, Cate Pearce, Liela Phillips, Chloe Poel & Zoe Proude

Year 11 Meritorious Effort: Ryder Carey, Sasha Collett, Lachlan Forsyth, Lilly Jenkins, Jae Morton, Jake Puddy, Monique Rayfield & Ryder Rogalski

Colin Thiele Awards:

Colin Thiele Learning Area Awards for Years 8-11 are determined by the teachers and leader of each learning area. This award recognises students who has achieved outstanding results across a number of subjects from each of the learning areas at Port Lincoln High School. They are also a student that upholds the school values responsible, respectful and inclusive.

Mathematics & Science:

  • Year 8: Evan Lukin (Mathematics) & Caitlin Cole (Science)
  • Year 9: Prapti Pai (Mathematics) & Luke Pearce (Science)
  • Year 10: Taya Watherston (Mathematics) & Ella Campbell (Science)

English, HASS & Languages:

  • Year 8: Caitlin Cole (Languages), Liam Akehurst (HASS) & Sophie Lang (English)
  • Year 9: Amahri Guamen (Languages), Luke Pearce (HASS) & Kalea Siegert (English)
  • Year 10: Eliza Hartwich (Languages), Saranda Edwards (HASS) & Kit West (English)

Visual Arts, Technology & Performing Arts:

  • Year 8: Caitlin Cole (Visual Arts), Holly Phillips (Technology) & Mikayla Edwards (Performing Arts)
  • Year 9: Nina Du (Visual Arts), Seth Kayser (Technology) & Sky Weir (Performing Arts)
  • Year 10: Jordan Ridgway (Photography), Saranda Edwards (Visual Arts), Lucy Bennie (Technology) & Esther Scott (Performing Arts)

HPE, Food & Integrated Learning:

  • Year 8: Fletcher Beard
  • Year 9: Kalea Siegert
  • Year 10: Lucy Bennie

  • Personal Learning Plan: Kyla Cullen
  • Room 22: Phillip Haereroa-Rogers
  • Room 23: Kenisha Bilney

Year 11: Nell Cane (Mathematics & Science), Lachlan Forsyth (English), Mitchell Paterson (Visual Arts), Josh Johnston (Technology), Zoe Proude (Performing Arts) & Cate Pearce (Physical Education)

Nunga Student of the Year Awards & Narelle Rankine Award

The Nunga Student of the Year Awards recognise Aboriginal students from each year level who show excellent attendance, are committed to their study, display outstanding commitment to the ethos of the school and an exceptional contribution to the school and wider community. The overall winner each year receives the Narelle Rankine Award.

  • Year 8: Hudson Saunders
  • Year 9: Dre Vlassco
  • Year 10: Natahlia Mildwaters
  • Year 11: Makayla Piddington & Sabrina Burgoyne

  • Narelle Rankine Award: Dre Vlassco

Walpaara Anpa & PLACE Awards:

The Walpaara Anpa Award recognises an Aboriginal Student in Year 10 who demonstrates a commitment to their education through regular attendance and consistent academic achievement, demonstrate leadership qualities and have strong aspirations to complete their schooling, progressing into further study or employment.

  • Walpaara Anpa Award: Mia Speed

The Port Lincoln Art Centre Enterprise Award celebrates diversity through the Visual Arts where student artworks aim to build an awareness of all First Nations peoples and culture.

  • PLACE Award: Mia Speed

Joshua Williams Memorial Award:

In 1988, Port Lincoln High School’s Year 9 Pantomime was a production of “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory”. The star of the show (playing Willy Wonka) was a young man by the name of Joshua Williams. Not only was Josh a wonderfully charismatic and talented performer on stage, but he was also a gifted writer – by the end of Year 8, he had written his first novel. Tragically, as a fifteen year old Year 10 student, Josh suffered a fatal asthma attack. The Joshua Williams Memorial Award was established to both honour Josh’s memory and to recognise an outstanding Year 9 Pantomime student each year.

  • Joshua Williams Memorial Award: Tilda Jenkins

Brave Awards:

These awards recognise students who have been particularly resilient in their approach to learning.

  • Year 8: Tayla Fox
  • Year 9: Leilani Stevens
  • Year 10: Kahsha Judge
  • Year 11: Ellie Jessop

Muriel Matters Award:

Muriel Matters was an Australian actress and acclaimed elocutionist. She went to Britain and ended up participating in the suffrage movement in the early 1900’s, going on to work with underprivileged children, amongst other things. The Muriel Matters Award recognises an outstanding student in the area of community and civic action – a quality and skill that Muriel Matters demonstrated all those years ago.

  • Muriel Matters Award: Prapti Pai

ADF Long Tan Leadership and Teamwork Award:

The ADF Long Tan Youth Leadership and Teamwork Awards were started in 2006 to recognise students who demonstrate leadership and teamwork within both the school and the broader local community. At the same time, they recognise those who display strong values, such as doing one’s best, respect for others and “mateship”, characteristics that are integral to Australian society.

  • ADF Long Tan Leadership and Teamwork Award: Nathaniel Hirschausen-Burk

Leave a Reply