Last Friday, PLHS staff and students were privileged to host another Muroto Exchange delegation for a day at Port Lincoln High School. This year’s group of nine students and five adults are in Port Lincoln for ten days as members of the bi-annual cultural exchange program.

Our 2019 visitors spent a full day participating in several aspects of our school community, commencing with a Welcome Assembly in the Gym – the highlight was Muroto High School teacher Kiwa Shimamoto bravely telling an Aussie joke; some are calling it the funniest gag ever delivered in a PLHS Assembly!

A tour of the campus was then conducted by Mrs Tanya Booker’s Year 10 Japanese students, before a morning tea was held in the Staff Room. After Recess, the group attended classes for the remainder of the day, beginning with Aquaculture with Mr Chris McGown and Cooking (kangaroo burgers) with Miss Kesby Turner-Wiebreck.

After lunch, the group joined myself and Ms Jenny Silver for an Aboriginal Art lesson; they each made colourful artworks featuring traditional Aboriginal symbols. The final class of the day was easily the most energetic, with the group heading to the Dance studio for a fun and frenetic lesson.

As demonstrated in the accompanying photos, Friday’s schedule was enjoyed by guests and hosts alike. The following staff and students were instrumental in ensuring the overall success of the day:

  • Mrs Tanya Booker and Miss Waka Ueta (for organising and translating throughout the day)
  • Mrs Joh Walding, Ms Toni Cappelluti, Mr Brock Jantke, Mr Todd George, Brooklyn George, Cameron Akehurst, Tarli Absalom and Jye Gower (for assisting with the smooth delivery of the Welcome Assembly)
  • Ms Jess Taylor and her Year 9 PE class (for promptly packing up the Assembly equipment)
  • Mr Chris McGown, Miss Kesby Turner-Wiebreck, Ms Jenny Silver and Ms Hanna Minchin (for hosting very enjoyable lessons with the delegation)
  • Tianna Boyce (for taking photos all day)
  • Ms Julie Schlink and Mrs Brooke Scott (for supplying an “oishii” morning tea)
  • Mrs Rachael Boyce, Ms Kath Dennis, Miss Annie Hage and Mr Al Scott (for providing valuable administrative assistance)
  • Amelia Ash, Elke Hawke, Aiden Stigwood, Natalie Castle, Clayton Hall, Zoe Proude and Kairi Schafer (for serving as tour guides throughout the day)
  • all other students involved in hosting the delegation in their classes (especially Shanae Williams and R’bka Ford in the Cooking lesson, Mrs Booker’s Year 10 Japanese class for conducting the school tour and the senior Dance students)

It is this generosity of spirit that keeps the Muroto Exchange program thriving in our community. We look forward to continuing this long-standing Friendship Agreement with the City of Muroto, and welcoming another delegation to our school next August.

~ Mr Shaun Thomas (International Education)

Leave a Reply