Awards Ceremony for Clontarf Academy 2021

On Tuesday November 9th, the Port Lincoln Clontarf Academy held its third annual awards ceremony to celebrate the success of our Clontarf Foundation members for 2021. The event was held in our Academy Room at Port Lincoln High School and was well attended by the boys, their families, school staff and several special guests, including:

  • Mr Brad Flaherty (Mayor, City of Port Lincoln)
  • Mr Matthew Morgan (Chief Executive Officer, City of Port Lincoln)
  • Miss Tash Rayson & Ms Karen Hogan (Local Education Team, Department for Education)
  • Mr Ian Taylor (SA Regional Manager, Clontarf Foundation)
  • Mr Eddie Hocking (Employment Officer, Clontarf Foundation)
  • Mr Todd George (Principal, Port Lincoln High School)
  • Several representatives from our valued Clontarf Foundation partner, Bunnings
  • Representatives from local community groups who generously support our program, Headspace, Centacare and Stehr Group

The evening commenced with guests enjoying some tasty chicken/mayo/coleslaw rolls, provided by Clontarf staff and volunteers. The awards were then presented to several Clontarf students for their outstanding efforts and achievements at our Port Lincoln Academy throughout 2021. For the second year in a row, Year 9 student Dre Vlassco performed admirably throughout the night as the ceremony’s MC, with Jesse Retallick, another Year 9 student, delivering an Acknowledgement of Country.

A special acknowledgement was made to outgoing Academy Director Mr Matthew Stokes, in recognition of his three years establishing such a successful program. Year 11 student Cooper Miller presented Stokesy with a photo board commemorating his time with the Port Lincoln Academy.

Each award recipient was encouraged to deliver a quick speech after receiving their award. Our boys impressively thanked their parents and teachers in what has been another challenging year. The awards presented (listed below) recognised the boys’ achievements in the fields of attendance, leadership, well-being, sport, education and employment. Congratulations to all recipients and their families on this wonderful recognition.

2021 Port Lincoln Clontarf Academy Award Winners

Attendance Awards:

Wesley Bilney Jnr. & Nathaniel Hirschausen-Burk

Employment Award:

Cooper Miller

Encouragement Awards:

Kobe Dodd & James Casserly

Training Award:

Lucas Retallick

Good Bloke Awards:

Dre Vlassco & Nathaniel Hirschausen-Burk

Clontarf Spirit Awards (Academy Members of the Year):

Jesse Retallick & N’ky Carbine

Leave a Reply