2022 PLHS Year 12 Awards Ceremony

Port Lincoln High School’s Year 12 Awards Ceremony for 2022 was staged in the Nautilus Theatre last night, with a large crowd of invited guests, families, PLHS staff and some very relieved Year 12 students in attendance.

Wonderfully compered once again by Mrs Helen Marks, the event served as an opportunity to recognise the outstanding contributions and achievements of a host of students, staff and community members, across a wide variety of service and subject disciplines. Heartfelt motivational addresses were delivered by Principal Mr. Todd George, Governing Councillor Ms. Latisha Proude and Senior School Assistant Principal Miss Bambi Britten; Governing Council Chairperson Mr. Brian Gabb went one step further, presenting his highly “Imagine-ative” aspirational speech accompanied by guitarist Johnny Murray. Many award presenters also took the opportunity to congratulate the graduates and wish them well for the future.

Following the delivery of the traditional Valedictory Speech, our 2022 Principal Student Leaders Nell Cane and Mitchell Paterson handed over to the recently elected 2023 leaders Denise Sadiwa (pictured) and Nathaniel Hirschausen-Burk (absent)

The completion of twelve formal years of schooling for over eighty PLHS students was then officially acknowledged with the presentation of the Completion Certificates.

Congratulations go to Mrs Amber Mullins for her outstanding organisation of last night’s ceremony, to each of last night’s completing students and their families, and to the host of worthy award recipients (listed below).

SPECIAL PRIZE WINNERS (pictured below from top left):

  • Principal’s Award: Skye Eagle
  • Governing Council Award: Port Lincoln History Group
  • Rowan Ramsey Award: Mrs. Joanna Tiffen
  • Sam Telfer Award: Georgia Ryan
  • Ampol Best All Rounder: Oliver Sellen
  • Rotary Student All Rounder Award: Zoe Proude
  • ADF Long Tan Youth Leadership and Teamwork Award: Mitchell Paterson
  • UniSA Whyalla Campus Award for Academic Achievement: Liela Phillips
  • Beatrice “Merle” Bascombe Award: Peter Kapnistis
  • Barbara Beitz Memorial Award: Reef Borlase
  • Port Lincoln Community Bank Award: Oliver Sellen
  • One Heart Brave Award: Jade Atkinson
  • CEG – ASBA Award: Lachlan Sampson
  • Port Lincoln Zonta Award: Charlotte Stigwood
  • Mat Steele Memorial Senior Drama Award: Sasha Collett
  • Gary Walpole Altruism Award: Ryan Anderson
  • Eyre Trading Award: Tyrone Salinas
  • Freemason’s Commitment to VET Award: Joshua Johnston

ACADEMIC AWARD WINNERS (pictured below from left):

  • Eyre Peninsula Community Foundation Caledonian Award for Academic Excellence: Nell Cane
  • Port Lincoln Freemasons Meritorious Effort Award: Chloe Poel


  • Biology, Chemistry, Mathematical Methods: Nell Cane
  • Business Innovations, Physics, Visual Arts – Design: Peter Kapnistis
  • Creative Arts – Dance, Drama, English Literary Studies: Zoe Proude
  • General Mathematics, Workplace Practices: Lilly Jenkins
  • Integrated Learning (Club & Community), Visual Arts – Design: Mitchell Paterson
  • English, Visual Arts – Design: Chloe Poel


  • Community Studies A: Tijana Perin
  • Creative Arts – Dance: Missi White
  • Essential Mathematics: Clayton Hall
  • Food & Hospitality: Kairi Schafer
  • Music: Isabelle Tsesmelis
  • Outdoor Education: Max Laube
  • Physical Education: Oliver Sellen
  • Psychology: Sasha Collett
  • SAASTA: Mia Speed
  • Visual Arts – Art: Jordan Langmaid
  • Visual Arts – Design: Liela Phillips

Leave a Reply