Curriculum Pathways at PLHS



Port Lincoln High School is the largest high school on the Eyre Peninsula; accordingly, our broad and inclusive curriculum has always been one of our major strengths. Our vast assortment of subject offerings cater for a variety of post-schooling alternatives, from university and other forms of tertiary education, to trade and employment pathways.

All information relating to our subject choices can be found in the 2018 PLHS SUBJECT HANDBOOK


Implementation of the National Curriculum (ACARA)

Port Lincoln High School is working at the national standard for implementation of the National Curriculum (ACARA).

The school is split into Middle School (Years 8, 9 & 10) and Senior School (Years 11 & 12). The transition from primary school to high school is made easier by our Middle School program, with Year 8 students allocated fewer subject teachers than other year levels. All curriculum areas are compulsory across Years 8 and 9, with subject choices dramatically increasing in Year 10.

Learning Pathways for Students


The Port Lincoln High School Community Learning Centre provides a link for students with education who may not fit the traditional mold of a high school student. The centre is located on Edinburgh St and is run by staff from PLHS. Ms Deb Marks is the contact person.

Key priorities of the CLC include supporting a flexible learning space, increased learning opportunities as well as provision of and access to various other services.

Port Lincoln High School Community Learning Centre

Vocational Education

Port Lincoln High School provides extensive opportunities for students to pursue trade pathways as part of their SACE studies. Students are thoroughly prepared for the world of work through this aspect of schooling, often completing significant amounts of compulsory training whilst at school.

In 2013 our Trade Training Centres were officially opened and provide outstanding facilities for students studying in the Hospitality (Commercial Cooking) and Aquaculture Pathways.

There are 3 main avenues in which a student can pursue Vocational Education at Port Lincoln High School:

  • VET (Vocational Education and Training): embedded in certain subjects and delivered by teachers at school, including subjects utilising our Trade training facilities. Students work towards completing certificates of training.
  • ASBA’s (Australian School Based Apprenticeships): the student is employed under a contract by an employer for an average of 8+ hours per week. While in the workplace, students learn and demonstrate competence in units to complete a certificate of training.
  • TGSS (Training Guarantee for SACE Students): part of “Skills for All”, under this scheme students enrol in a Tafe certificate course which they complete while at school. Students usually attend Tafe during school time to complete their study. A bonus of this scheme is the funding support for course costs.

It is very important to note that these three methods of delivery count for SACE. When a student completes units of training from a certificate they count towards SACE.

For more information on any of these pathways, please contact Ms Tiffany Evans.

Students are also able to access other training opportunites around the Eyre Peninsula. Families will need to be in contact with relevant sites at the beginning of the school year to arrange this training. Information relating to these courses is available at the following site:


Indigenous Students

Aboriginal students have the opportunity access to a wide variety of curricula and extra curricula activities, camps and excursions as well as extra assistance through our APAS tutors. In addition to this, the school has committed to three distinct projects:

As well as these programs, Port Lincoln High School has continued to offer Aboriginal Studies within SACE Studies.


South Australian Certificate of Education

The South Australian Certificate of Education is the qualification gained through High School for entry into University and further training. It requires students to meet a number of obligations throughout their Senior Schooling and complete a certain amount of subjects.

It is split into Stage 1 (normally PLP in Year 10 and then Year 11) and Stage 2 (normally Year 12). The SACE is flexible and allows for learning both in and out of school.

For Further information on SACE, links have been provided below. Or feel free to contact the SACE Coordinator, Mrs Jill Murdoch


Australian Curriculum (ACARA)

The development of the Australian Curriculum is guided by the Melbourne Declaration on Educational Goals for Young Australians, adopted by the Ministerial Council in December 2008. The Melbourne Declaration emphasises the importance of knowledge, skills and understandings of learning areas, general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities as the basis for a curriculum designed to support 21st century learning.

ACARA (Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority) is the Department responsible for ensuring the Australian (or National) Curriculum is implemented effectively and that schools are at an appropriate standard.

Port Lincoln High School has met all standards and has even been selected as a pilot school for some of the phases of implementation.

Australian Curriculum